Poetry

Serious Moments

by Peter Madoda Bungane

Serious  moments  are  serious,
The  sun  blazes  a  deserted  sky,
The  moon  shines  a  sparkling  sky,
People  world-wide,  sleep  deeply,
Many  cry,  many  die,  tell  me,
How  many  things  are  in  your  mind,
Tell  me  not  to  think  of  them,
These  ever  so  serious  moments!

Tick  clock,  tick  tock  the  clock
Hands  never stop
If  I  were  a  bee, I’d  be  busy
If  I  were  a  tick,  I’d  suck  your  blood
Wonder  if  that  would  defranchise  vampires
Or  maybe  I  should  be  a  farmer
Feed  the  world,  save  the world
From  what?   Hunger, disease,  No!!!  Save
the  world from  itself.  Serious  moments!

Yes  I  want  to  have  serious  moments,
To share  with  you  many things,
To bring  the  sun  and  moon  closer,
To  bring  food  and  sanity  closer,
Or  maybe  I  should  be  a  farmer,
Feed  the  world, save  the  world,
From  what?  From   itself.
These  are serious  moments!!!
Take  it  seriously,
Better  take me  seriously.

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

Poet  Peter  Madoda  Bungane  is  exploring  the depths  of  the  African  psyche  and 
looks  beyond  the  cries  of  the  poor  in  subsidy  ridden  economies  of  the diaspora.
He  is  driven  to  write  by  the  images  of  contemporary events  escalating  in  Africa.
* * * * * * * * * * * * * *
fish painting 2011 acrylic
Artist: Marsha Strong
Fish Painting
Standard

Leave a Reply

